Regulation of Osteopathy in Europe

Currently, osteopathy is regulated in twelve European countries: 
Cyprus, Denmark, Finland, France, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Luxembourg, MaltaNorway, Portugal, Switzerland and the UK.
We strongly urge all governments across Europe to recognise and regulate osteopathy as an independent, primary healthcare profession.
We recommend that the title ‘osteopath’ is protected by law and that osteopaths and osteopathic physicians can only use the title if they meet certain statutory conditions in terms of competencies and registration and/or licensure.
This would normally require statutory registration, set out in national or state/provincial law, as the health professional must comply with set standards of practice that protect the patients they treat. 
Patients should be able to consult an osteopath, confident in the knowledge that the practitioner is able to practise efficiently, effectively and safely. Countries that have properly trained and regulated osteopaths see the benefits of high patient satisfaction, safe practice and good patient outcomes. 
The following regulation overview of the osteopathic profession is based on information collected by the Policy Committee within our organisation and with contributions from all our members, in 2021.
The content in this document will be updated annually and has been approved by the Osteopathy Europe Board, the respective national organisations, and the Policy Committee.

Download Regulation of the Osteopathic Profession in Europe, September 2022